TICKETS & ENTRY · 35 MIN READ

How to Book China Attraction Tickets With a Foreign Passport

Compare official booking routes, passport rules and entry documents by attraction.

Last verified October 16, 2026 • Published September 20, 2026 • Official sources checked; verification limits noted

Quick Answer

  • Can foreigners book with a passport? Yes. The Palace Museum, the Terracotta Army museum and Shaanxi History Museum explicitly list passports for booking.
  • Does every attraction support it? Do not assume so. Check the exact venue, branch and exhibition; “valid ID” alone does not confirm a passport-number field.
  • Where should I book? Start from the attraction’s official website or named WeChat mini program. Shanghai Museum also names trip.com for overseas visitors at its People’s Square branch.
  • What should I bring? Carry the original passport used for booking and your confirmation or QR code. Follow your booked entry time and ask staff if the scanner cannot read your document.
In this guide

Attraction Booking Comparison

Checked on . All release times are Beijing time (UTC+8). “Not confirmed” means the checked source does not establish current passport-number booking; it does not mean foreigners are excluded. These are documentation checks, not completed booking tests.

On a phone, swipe the table sideways or use the keyboard arrow keys when the table is focused. Follow the official rule link in each row before booking.

Official booking and entry rules by attraction and branch
AttractionPassport acceptedOfficial booking channelReservation requiredBooking windowEntry documentVerification
Palace Museum (Forbidden City), BeijingYes; explicitly listed for booking and entry.Official 故宫博物院 mini program; start from the museum website.Yes, including free-entry visitors.7 days before the visit, 20:00.Original document used to book; enter at Wumen.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Terracotta Army / Emperor Qinshihuang’s Mausoleum Site MuseumYes; passport details explicitly accepted online.Museum website and its two named official WeChat accounts.Yes, including concession visitors.Current advance window and release times not confirmed. The 2023 holiday schedule is historical.Original booked passport at ticket check.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Shaanxi History Museum — main buildingYes; explicitly listed.Official reservation platform linked from the museum’s visitor guide.Yes for the free basic exhibition, unless a published exception applies.5 days ahead, 17:00; pre-filling is not a booking.Original booked document and successful order; use your booked session.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Shaanxi History Museum — Qin Han branchYes for entry; explicitly listed.Official branch visitor guide; no general-entry booking needed.No for general admission.Not applicable to general entry.Original passport; staff complete verification.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Shanghai Museum — People’s SquareOverseas booking route confirmed; the current notice does not explicitly list passport-number booking.Official museum mini program; trip.com is named for overseas visitors.Ticketed exhibition booking route published; confirm the selected ticket’s terms.Individual release window not stated; groups of 20+ reserve by phone 7 days ahead, excluding visit day.Original valid ID and ticket; south entrance. Confirm passport handling before purchase.Official rule
; effective 30 Jun 2026
Shanghai Museum — EastCurrent general-entry guide says valid ID, without explicitly naming passports.Official East visitor guide; Special Reservation for Curio-City and Digital Gallery.No for individual general entry; separate rules for experiences, paid shows and groups.No general-entry window; groups of 20+ reserve by phone 7 days ahead, excluding visit day.Original valid ID; B1 East Gate for individuals. Confirm passport handling with the museum.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
National Museum of China, BeijingNot confirmed for the current system. A 2022 official reply names passports; 2025–2026 notices do not specify document types.Museum website and named official reservation / WeChat channels.Yes; authenticated account required.Within 7 days ahead, 17:00 daily.Original booked document and confirmation; north entrance.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Suzhou Museum — main buildingNot confirmed; the checked notice says valid ID.Museum’s official reservation mini program, linked from its notice.Yes; same-day reservation only if places remain.7 days ahead; system open 08:00–23:00. This is not a stated release time.Reservation and matching valid ID for staff verification.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Suzhou Museum — WestPassport type not specified in the checked notice.Official West branch notice on the same reservation page.No for general admission; capacity controls may apply.Not applicable to general entry.Security check; no passport-specific procedure stated.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes
Nine Beijing municipal parks listed in the city guideYes; passports explicitly accepted for purchase.Visiting Beijing Parks (畅游公园) website / WeChat channels linked by the city guide.Ticket purchase described; reservation rules vary by park and ticket.No common release window stated.E-ticket QR code and valid ID such as the passport.Official rule
; current standing page; see source notes

Zizhuyuan Park is a separate, free, no-reservation example in the Beijing guide. Do not apply one branch’s rules to another branch or to a ticketed special exhibition.

How to Book Tickets Step by Step

  1. Choose the exact venue and visit date. Check the branch, exhibition, closure days and any temporary notice. Some ordinary galleries need no reservation even when a special experience does.
  2. Open the official channel from the venue’s website. Check its document list and release window in the comparison above. For WeChat preparation, see essential apps for China travel.
  3. Select passport (护照), if offered. Enter your own details as requested and check them against the original passport. Follow the form’s name instructions; there is no verified universal rule for name order, spaces or middle names. If the field is missing or rejects your number, contact the venue.
  4. Choose a session and complete the order. Check every visitor, branch and date before payment. For payment preparation, use our guide to paying in China with foreign cards, Alipay and cash. A saved visitor record or a bank debit alone does not prove admission is booked.
  5. Check the successful order and save the confirmation. Keep the QR code, entry instructions and cancellation deadline. Add the visit to your China travel preparation checklist. If travelling between cities, book transport separately using the 12306 foreign-passport train booking guide.
  6. Bring the original booked passport and arrive within the entry window. Follow the venue’s staff-assisted verification instructions when the scanner cannot process it. A service window is not a promise of a same-day ticket.

Official Rules by Attraction

The rules below distinguish explicit passport acceptance, broader wording about overseas visitors, and historical notices. Official source links and verification limits appear at the end of this guide.

Palace Museum, Beijing

The museum publishes detailed booking and entry rules. Booking is real-name for everyone, including visitors who would enter free and the adults with them, and the museum sells no same-day tickets. The English visitor page on its multilingual site says plainly that "foreign visitors are required to provide passport numbers during the online booking", and the Chinese rule lists passport as one of the documents for visitors from outside the mainland, alongside the two travel permits, the two residence permits and the permanent residence card. One document may hold one ticket per visit day, the ticket is for that person only, and no change of ticket type, date, session or visitor is allowed after purchase.

  • Official channelThe 故宫博物院 WeChat mini program, which the museum names as the channel to use, ; use ticket.dpm.org.cn to read the official ticketing rules and reach the museum’s booking route. The multilingual site explains the rule in English; the ordering interface itself is Chinese.
  • ReleaseTickets and exhibition places open at 20:00 seven days before the visit date, used only on that date. Closed Mondays except statutory holidays.
  • EntryWumen (午门) is the only entrance, and you must carry the original document you booked with. The museum says face-recognition equipment assists the real-name check, that face data is compared in real time and not stored, and that staff handle anything the equipment cannot. Morning sessions stop admitting at 12:00; afternoon sessions do not begin before 11:00. Exit by Shenwu Men or Donghua Men.
  • Price¥60 peak (1 April to 31 October), ¥40 off-peak, plus ¥10 each for the Treasure Gallery and the Clock Gallery.
  • Refund and no-showAn unused ticket may be returned through the original channel before 24:00 on the day before your visit with no penalty; after that it counts as one no-show, at most one per person per day, and three no-shows within 180 days bar you from booking for 60 days from the day after the third. Money returns along the original payment route within five working days.
  • Contact400-950-1925, 08:00 to 20:00 all year, on the visitor rules page; [email protected] on the English page. Ticket windows at the visitor centre, the Treasure Gallery and the Clock Gallery work 08:30 to 16:00 in peak season and 08:30 to 15:30 in the off season.

One dated example shows how the pieces move together. To mark the second anniversary of the Central Axis inscription the museum opened free on Monday 27 July 2026, with bookings from 20:00 on 24 July through the mini program only, and the notice added that on that day the ticket windows at Duanmen, the Treasure Gallery and the Clock Gallery would not provide service. This was a date-specific exception, not a current walk-in ticket route.

Emperor Qinshihuang's Mausoleum Site Museum, Xi'an

The Terracotta Army museum explicitly accepts passport details for online booking, but its current release window remains unconfirmed. Its standing visitor page states that visitors including those entitled to free entry, visitors from Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and abroad, book through the official website and the WeChat accounts, that the website accepts a second-generation ID card or passport details, and that visitors pass the check lane with an original document from a list that ends with 护照. A pre-holiday notice dated 20 April 2023 describes that year’s May holiday arrangements. Its release times are historical, not verified 2026 instructions.

  • Official channelbmy.com.cn and the two official WeChat accounts it names.
  • ReleaseCurrent advance window and release times: not confirmed. The 20 April 2023 notice described 10:00, 15:00 and 20:00 releases for that holiday only. Check the official booking channel for your date.
  • Capacity65,000 visitors a day, and sales stop at the limit.
  • EntryThe check lane verifies the ticket against the original document, with passport named.
  • ContactTicketing 029-81399127, complaints and assistance 029-81399174.

The caveat is worth stating because it is unusual: the checked guide still links older announcements. That does not establish that the museum has published no newer rules elsewhere; the current release schedule needs confirmation in its official booking channel.

Shaanxi History Museum, Xi'an

This museum explicitly lists passports and describes staff verification at its Qin Han branch. Its visiting guide lists passport as booking document number four of five for the main building, states that visitors from outside the mainland may book with the two travel permits, the two residence permits or a passport, and describes entry as a person-to-document comparison. The Qin Han annex goes further: mainland visitors scan an ID card, and visitors from outside the mainland may enter with a passport, with staff verifying on site and completing the entry procedure by hand.

  • ReleaseFive days ahead, at 17:00 each day: the example on the page is 1 July for 6 July. You may pre-fill visitor details, but a pre-filled record is not a booking, unfinished ones are cleared at 24:00, and one pre-fill may hold at most five visitors.
  • LimitsOne document may appear in at most three pre-fills a day, may hold one booking order a day, at most four successful orders in 30 days including refunds, and one WeChat account at most three orders every seven days.
  • EntryOriginal document plus the successful order, in your session; the page says plainly that a mismatch or a missed session means no entry. If you arrive without the original document, the stated route is the south gate service window with an electronic ID or a police-issued certificate and the order, exchanging for an entry pass. That route is published by this museum, not by all of them.
  • Paid exhibitionsThe Tang dynasty mural gallery and the current special exhibition sell both online in advance and on site inside the museum, and buying one of those tickets means you do not need also to book the free basic exhibition.
  • Refund and no-showRefund through the booking platform before checking stops for your session; after that it is treated as a no-show, and a no-show bars booking for 180 calendar days.
  • Contact and hours029-85253806. The page prints the current season as 6 May to 14 November 2026, and a historical holiday notice dated 20 September 2026 set 25 to 27 September and 1 to 7 October at 07:30 to 20:30, checking stops at 19:30, with 17,500 entries a day for those dates only; those holiday hours are not the regular October schedule.

National Museum of China, Beijing

Included mainly as the honest limit of this exercise. Its visitor booking notice, printed 25 July 2025 and in force from 1 August 2025, plus a further notice of 18 September 2026, describe a free ticket up to seven days ahead, released at 17:00, with refund possible until 15:00 on the day of visit, entry at the north gate with the original booked document, and a quota regime: one booking per account per week, up to five people, at most ten saved travellers which cannot be altered for 30 days, four bookings per document per month and one per day. Refunds still count against the quota. Three failures to appear cut the document off for 30 days.

The checked 2025 booking notice and September 2026 reminder do not name passport as a document type. However, a museum reply to a visitor in its 2022 message-board archive explicitly accepted passports. This is historical evidence, not confirmation of the current booking form. Booking also requires an account that has completed real-name authentication, which was introduced on 22 April 2025, became mandatory on 6 May 2025, and uses national online identity authentication or WeChat authentication. What that means for a visitor whose identity documents are foreign, the official text does not say, and neither do we. The demand figures it does give explain why people assume the door is shut: in 2024 the museum reported around 1.6 million people a day chasing 26,000 tickets in summer, and about 520,000 a day for the same 26,000 in the off season.

Suzhou Museum

The checked main-building notice does not name passports; that leaves its current passport booking procedure unconfirmed. Its booking notice, which carries no date at all, runs a full real-name reservation system seven days ahead with the system open 08:00 to 23:00, allows same-day booking if capacity remains, sets the last same-day booking at 20 minutes before entry closes, permits one change per ticket and only into another session on the same date, and defines missed attendance generously: arrive outside 30 minutes either side of your slot and the ticket is void. Two consecutive misses, or four within 90 days, trigger a 90-day booking block for this museum's tickets and activities; behaviour that breaks the rules can put a visitor on a barred list for a year. Children who have no ID card are booked with the ID number on their household registration.

Two useful things survive the passport silence. The west branch does not require a booking at all: visitors come and pass security, with flow control if the building reaches capacity. And the exemption list, which covers service personnel, people with disabilities, and people aged 70 and above with limited mobility and one accompanying adult, is written around "corresponding valid documents", which is the same phrasing problem as everywhere else.

Shanghai Museum, People's Square

This branch publishes a booking channel specifically for overseas visitors. Its visitor notice, in force since 30 June 2026, says individual visitors book through the museum's WeChat mini program and, for inbound visitors specifically, that they may book and buy through trip.com, then enter with the original document through the south gate individual lane. Groups of twenty or more book by telephone seven days ahead, not counting the day itself, on 021-63724550, with a daily cap and no admission for unbooked walk-in groups. Opening is 09:00 to 17:00 with entry stopping at 15:00, and late-opening runs to 21:00 with entry stopping at 19:00, closed Mondays other than national holidays. Visitors aged 65 and above, serving and retired military, fire and rescue personnel and police enter through the south gate green lane on showing their own valid document and a same-day ticket; people with disabilities enter free on their own document. The notice says “original valid document” without listing passport as the booking document; its audio-guide deposit reference to a passport does not prove passport-number booking. Confirm the selected ticket’s accepted documents. The foreign-language audio guide rents for ¥40 with a deposit of ¥400, or US$50, or a passport.

A temporary wrinkle matters if you are going for the collections rather than a show: during the Americas exhibition, dated 9 July 2026 to 14 November 2027 on the page, the People's Square building shows nothing else, and permanent and other special exhibitions move to the East Branch at 1952 Century Avenue.

Shanghai Museum East

The current official English visitor guide says individual visitors do not need a reservation for general entry. It requires original valid ID, without naming passports. Confirm passport handling with the museum; the older 15 March 2024 passport-booking notice predates the no-reservation arrangement and does not establish today’s form requirements.

Curio-City and the Digital Gallery still require Special Reservation. Paid exhibitions and groups have separate arrangements. Groups of 20 or more book by phone seven days ahead, excluding the visit day. The guide directs individuals to the B1 East Gate at 1952 Century Avenue. Check current opening information before travelling; People’s Square rules do not apply to this building.

Beijing municipal parks

The only case where a government publishes the whole thing for you in English. The city's inbound-services guide, whose retrieved guide has no visible publication date, walks through buying tickets for nine municipal parks on the 畅游公园 website, WeChat account or mini program, notes that the site defaults to Chinese and can be switched to English from the "Language" control at the top right, and states two lines that settle most arguments: foreign visitors can purchase tickets with passports or permanent residence permits, and at the gate you scan the e-ticket QR code and present a valid ID such as your passport. The nine parks are the Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven, Beihai, Jingshan, Zhongshan Park, Xiangshan, Beijing Zoo, Yuyuantan and Taoranting. Zizhuyuan Park is free and needs no reservation; other parks run their own platforms.

What the national rules actually say

Three documents sit above the venue pages. They are worth reading precisely, because each one is routinely quoted as something it does not say.

  • The passport sentenceThe nine-ministry Guiding Opinions on Promoting High-Quality Development of Tourism Public Services (文旅公共发〔2024〕41号, signed 19 June 2024, text published by the Xing'an League administration on 7 August 2024) instructs: "推动入境游客较多的景区开发多语种预约界面,将护照等纳入有效预约证件,并保留必要的人工服务窗口." In other words, at scenic areas with many inbound visitors, build multilingual booking interfaces, make passports and documents like them valid booking credentials, and keep the staffed service window that this implies. This is the strongest sentence available to a traveller, and it is also the reason a staffed window should exist when an app refuses you.
  • Summer 2026 policy contextAn office notice from the National Cultural Heritage Administration on summer museum services, carried by the Shandong culture and tourism department on 22 July 2026, tells venues to size their capacity honestly and then, quote, "对具备条件的场馆原则上取消预约限制" — institutions with the conditions for it should in principle drop reservation requirements, and where booking is kept, simplify the process and retain staffed windows and telephone booking. Some of what you read about "everything in China needs booking seven days ahead" cannot be treated as a universal rule, and some of it survives because the venue has kept booking.
  • The money sentenceA four-department notice on payment at cultural and tourist venues, published by the Baiyin culture and tourism bureau on 15 April 2024, requires 4A and 5A rated scenic areas and similar venues to accept domestic and foreign bank cards, and states that "重点文旅场所相关经营主体应保留人工售票窗口,支持现金支付." The State Council opinion behind it (国办发〔2024〕10号, dated 1 March 2024) is broader: major shopping districts, scenic areas, museums and transport hubs must have the hardware to take mobile payment, cards and cash, so the buyer can choose. This is a rule about how you pay, not about which document you hold. It does not mean a passport buys a ticket at a window.

None of the three sets an advance booking period, a release time, or an obligation to honour a foreign visitor's claim to a discount. Those live in the venue pages, which is where the next section goes.

Three checks before you book anywhere

Every venue below was checked against these three questions, and they are the ones worth asking of a place we have not listed.

1Does the page name your document?Look for 非中国内地观众 and 护照 — not only 有效身份证件2When does it release, and how much?Windows differ by venue; verify the date and the current booking channel3Who sells through the official channel?Three museums authorise no third party; the Shanghai Museum names trip.com
The three questions worth asking of any venue. Built from the venue pages themselves; that the answers differ by venue is the point. Original schematic made for this page.
  • One · Does the page name your document?The useful phrase in Chinese pages is 非中国内地观众, "visitors from outside the mainland", because the sentence that follows lists what those people may use: 护照 (passport) alongside 港澳居民来往内地通行证, 台湾居民来往大陆通行证 and 外国人永久居留身份证. Where a page instead writes only 有效身份证件 or 身份证号码, the field may not be a formatting problem you can talk your way through. Suzhou Museum tells adults booking for children to use the child's household-registration ID number, which is a good illustration of who these forms were built for.
  • Two · When does it release, and how much?This is the part guides generalise most badly, because there is no common number. The advance window in the venues below runs five days in one case and seven in three others, at three different clock times, and the mausoleum museum at Xi'an has only a historical holiday release schedule in the checked sources. Read the release sentence on the venue's own page before you plan a morning.
  • Three · Who sells through the official channel?The Palace Museum, the Shaanxi History Museum and the National Museum of China each publish an explicit statement that they have authorised no third party to sell tickets or bundling services, and the national summer notice tells regulators to crack down on scalpers hoarding inventory. One exception deserves mention because it is official rather than tolerated: the Shanghai Museum's own visitor notice, in force since 30 June 2026, says inbound visitors may book and buy through trip.com, the international edition of Ctrip. That is one named venue, not a general licence.

Passport Verification and Entry

This is where the passport question really bites, and the wording of the sources is more informative than any summary. The Shaanxi museum's rule for its Qin Han annex is the explicit one: mainland visitors scan an ID card, and visitors from outside the mainland may use a passport, with staff completing verification. The Palace Museum promises document-original-plus-face-assist and hands exceptions to staff. Beijing's parks ask for two things, the code and the passport. The National Museum of China refuses entry to anyone whose document does not match the booking. Read together, they describe a self-service lane built around the mainland card system, and a human being on the other side of it. Plan on the person.

  • Carry the originalVenues with explicit document-check rules generally ask for the original booked document; the comparison flags notices that are less specific. A phone photo of a passport data page appears in none of these rules; the one museum that offers a fallback for a forgotten document asks for an electronic ID or a police certificate, which is a route for residents.
  • Treat the session as hardThe Palace Museum will not scan you in before 11:00 for an afternoon ticket or after 12:00 for a morning one. Suzhou voids a ticket outside 30 minutes either side. The Xi'an museums say a missed session is simply no entry, and the national museum says the same. Being late is not a ticket problem, it is a no-show, with the consequences below.
  • Ask the venue about staff assistanceThat expectation has a source: the nine-ministry instruction of June 2024 says keep the necessary staffed windows, and the 2024 payment notices say keep a window that takes cash and foreign cards. These policy directions do not guarantee a same-day ticket or a successful passport verification at every venue.

Free Entry and Concession Documents

Booking acceptance and concession eligibility are separate questions. Check both the qualifying category and the required proof; passport acceptance for a full-price ticket does not establish a discount.

  • Palace Museum"未满18周岁的中国公民(含港澳台居民及获得永久居留权的外国人)免费参观,但须预约" — Chinese citizens under 18, and this explicitly includes Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents and foreigners who hold permanent residence, enter free but must still book. That wording does not extend the free category to every child holding an ordinary foreign passport. Visitors aged 60 and above get half price "凭有效身份证原件", on an original resident ID card; students above 18 may qualify for a ¥20 ticket with the required student proof; confirm eligibility and acceptable overseas evidence. Accompanying adults must also book and should check their own concession eligibility.
  • Mausoleum site, Xi'anHistorical only: the free categories in the dated 2023 notice are 65 and above, children of 16 and under accompanied by a parent, and visitors with disabilities, with no nationality qualifier in that sentence. This does not confirm current foreign-visitor eligibility; confirm the category and accepted evidence before booking. The historical student concession mentions a student card. People entitled to free entry still book in advance, and the free-entry lane asks for the relevant original document, listing military and disability certificates.
  • Shaanxi History MuseumVisitors of 65 and above need no reservation and may "刷身份证直接检票入馆", scan an ID card and walk in. Children aged 6 or younger or 1.4 m or shorter enter with a booked adult, two per adult. The exemption document list is entirely made of Chinese documents, and those visitors are told to bring the matching original plus an ID card.
  • Suzhou and ShanghaiSuzhou's exemptions for 70 and above, serving military and people with disabilities are personal, usable once every three months, and keyed to "corresponding valid documents". Shanghai's green lane for 65 and above asks for your own valid document and a same-day ticket, which at least assumes a purchased ticket rather than a national ID.

So: no official source says a foreign passport is excluded from every concession, and none says it is included. Do not infer acceptance or exclusion from a broad label alone. That is why the Palace Museum's free category for under-18s reads as the exception it is, and why accompanying adults must check their own ticket category.

Cancellations and No-show Restrictions

These are the numbers that make a difference to a two-week itinerary, and they are not shared. A no-show at Suzhou Museum is not a Suzhou problem for a fortnight; it is a 90-day block.

  • Palace MuseumFree and clean if you cancel before 24:00 the day before. Later than that it is booked as a no-show, at most one per day, and three within 180 days mean sixty days without booking. Refunds travel back along the payment route within five working days.
  • National Museum of ChinaCancel by 15:00 on the day. The refund still counts against your monthly quota. Three no-shows cost a document thirty days of booking, and deleting and re-registering an account does not reset anything: a cancelled account cannot be used again for thirty days.
  • Shaanxi History MuseumCancel before checking stops for your session; missing that deadline is a no-show and a 180 calendar day block. Because the same page caps a document at four successful orders per 30 days including refunds, careless cancelling burns the quota as well as the record.
  • Suzhou MuseumCancel before the end of your booked slot. Miss it twice running, or four times in 90 days, and the block lasts 90 days.

The Xi'an mausoleum museum and the Shanghai Museum publish no cancellation or no-show terms in the pages above, so there is nothing to quote for them. For context on why these lists tightened: the same 2026 national heritage notice tells local authorities to build joint supervision with other regulators, "严厉打击黄牛囤票倒票行为", and to complete booking-compliance oversight and credit management systems. It does not describe a nationwide blacklist shared between venues, and the claim that one exists has no first-party source we can find.

Common Booking Problems

The booking page has no passport option, or rejects the number

Two different situations hide behind one symptom. If there is no passport option, check that you selected the right branch and official channel. A “valid ID” notice does not establish how its form works. Do not substitute a mainland ID number or invent a number. If the passport option exists and the number is refused, check the selected document type, characters and the form’s own instructions. No checked source establishes one usual cause or a universal name format. Save the error message and ask official support; do not change your legal identity details to force acceptance. Contact the venue’s published support channel before travelling. Staff help is not a guarantee of a booking or admission.

It sold out the moment it opened

This is arithmetic rather than bad luck. The National Museum of China reported roughly 1.6 million people a day competing for 26,000 tickets during the 2024 summer, and the Shaanxi museum’s September–October 2026 holiday notice set a 17,500-entry daily limit for those holiday dates only. The checked standing pages publish these times, subject to later notices: 20:00 seven days ahead for the Palace Museum, 17:00 five days ahead in Xi'an, 17:00 seven days ahead at the National Museum of China. Set the clock, and note that the Shaanxi museum lets you pre-fill visitor details beforehand while warning that a pre-filled record is not a booking.

Only a Chinese-language interface is offered

The Palace Museum is the standard example: its English visitor page tells you passport numbers are required for online booking, while the booking itself happens in the 故宫博物院 mini program, whose booking instructions are in Chinese. Beijing's park platform is the counter-example, since the city's guide says to click "Language" at the top right to switch to English. Elsewhere, assume Chinese and use the numbers and document fields above.

The gate will not read my passport

Ask staff to check the original passport and your booking confirmation. The Xi'an annex museum spells it out, with staff verifying a passport and processing entry by hand; the Palace Museum routes anything the face equipment cannot resolve to a staff member; Beijing's parks ask for a QR scan plus the passport. Do not assume an ID-card scanner can process a passport. The Shaanxi History Museum’s published south-gate fallback for a forgotten document requires for an electronic ID or a police certificate.

If it is sold out

The alternatives below have official documentation with different scopes. Check the current notice and availability; none guarantees a place at a sold-out venue.

  • Same day, if capacity remainsSuzhou Museum allows a same-day booking when tickets are left, up to 20 minutes before entry closes, on an undated standing page. The Palace Museum rules this out in its own words: no same-day tickets.
  • Change buildingSuzhou's west branch needs no reservation at all. During the Americas exhibition the Shanghai Museum's permanent collections are at the East Branch instead of People's Square. Xi'an's Qin Han annex admits visitors without a booking, with passport verification handled by staff.
  • Pay for the special exhibitionThe Shaanxi History Museum sells its mural gallery and current special exhibition both online and on site, and says that a paid exhibition ticket means you do not also need the free basic-exhibition reservation. This is the closest thing to an official on-site route in the set, and it is narrower than it sounds: it belongs to those two ticketed shows.
  • Book the group channel, or the school channelShanghai's telephone line 021-63724550 is for parties of twenty or more, seven days ahead. Historical, not a current family fallback: the Palace Museum's summer 2026 measure for minors' groups runs by email to [email protected] for organised institutional groups with at least 85% minors, capped at 200 groups a day, with the adult tickets bought separately and the paperwork presented at ticket window 8 on Duanmen square. It is a channel for a school, not for a family.

Official Support Contacts

Start with the venue. Published contact numbers include: the Palace Museum's 400-950-1925 from 08:00 to 20:00 all year, the mausoleum museum's 029-81399127 for tickets and 029-81399174 for complaints, the Shaanxi History Museum's 029-85253806, the Shanghai Museum's 021-60226699 for enquiries and 021-63724550 for group booking. These numbers were checked in published documentation, not tested by calling; service and language availability are unconfirmed, and the pages carrying the first three are undated.

If you need a public number instead, dial 12345, not 12301. The State Council's opinion on local government service hotlines (国办发〔2020〕53号, dated 28 December 2020, published on the Ministry of Finance's Jiangsu regulatory bureau site on 30 November 2021) merged low-volume lines into the 12345 government services hotline with 24-hour human service, and its annex list puts "全国统一旅游资讯服务电话 12301" under lines absorbed whole, which means the number was cancelled. A Taishan culture and tourism notice of 13 December 2021 says it in a headline: goodbye 12301, hello 12345. The old tourism line 12301.cn resolves but serves no usable page from this machine.

What we could not verify

Things that are widely stated about booking Chinese attractions with a foreign passport, and what our search found. If any of these acquires a dated first-party source, we will update the section above it and name the source.

  • How many days ahead the Xi'an mausoleum museum releases tickets. The checked 2023 holiday notice does not establish the 2026 advance period or release clock times.
  • Whether the National Museum of China or Suzhou Museum can be booked with a passport. The current notices checked do not specify passports. The National Museum’s 2022 reply is historical evidence only.
  • Any rule about how to type a name, in what order, in pinyin or with middle names. Not one page in this set says anything about name formatting.
  • How the booking systems treat a foreign document internally: rate limits, device or IP rules, whether face liveness rejects foreign passports, whether foreigners are risk-flagged. These mechanisms have not been established by the checked sources.
  • That a passport buys a ticket at a window. A staffed window does not guarantee passport-based admission or ticket availability. The Palace Museum does not sell same-day tickets; published on-site exhibition sales elsewhere are a separate case.
  • Whether foreign children or older visitors get concessions as a class. Both "foreigners never qualify" and "age qualifies everywhere" are unsourced; the venue-by-venue wording is the only ground.
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum rules of any kind. Its ticketing pages are a rendered shell with no static text to cite, no current rule has been confirmed in this review, so it is not included in the table.
  • Returned-ticket refresh tricks, scalper inventory percentages, or which minute to reload at. No source, and the paid-exhibition route above is the only legitimate second door we found.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a Chinese phone number to book attraction tickets?

Requirements depend on the channel. We have not confirmed that every system accepts an overseas number, or that a Chinese number is always necessary. Account authentication and ticket eligibility are separate checks. If your number cannot receive a code, contact the venue through its official channel; a service window does not guarantee a ticket.

Does every attraction release tickets seven days ahead?

No. The Palace Museum states seven days ahead at 20:00, the National Museum of China within seven days at 17:00, and Shaanxi History Museum five days ahead at 17:00. These are Beijing times. Suzhou’s 08:00–23:00 is a system service period, not a stated release time. The Terracotta Army museum’s current release schedule remains unconfirmed.

Can my child enter free with a foreign passport?

Check the exact concession wording and required evidence. The Palace Museum’s published under-18 free category is limited to Chinese citizens, including Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan residents, and foreigners with permanent residence. It does not cover every ordinary foreign-passport holder. The Terracotta Army’s 2023 holiday concession notice is historical and cannot confirm current eligibility.

What happens if I miss my time slot?

You may be refused entry and may incur a no-show restriction. The Palace Museum, National Museum of China, Shaanxi History Museum and Suzhou Museum publish different cancellation deadlines and restriction periods. Check the entry and cancellation sections above, and cancel through the official channel before its deadline if your plans change.

Can I buy a ticket when I arrive?

Do not rely on it. The Palace Museum explicitly says no same-day tickets. Suzhou’s main building allows a same-day reservation only while places remain. Shanghai Museum East general entry, Suzhou’s West branch and Shaanxi History Museum’s Qin Han branch have no-reservation arrangements in the checked guides. Special exhibitions can have separate ticket requirements.

Can an agency or reseller book for me?

Use the official channel identified by the venue. The Palace Museum, Shaanxi History Museum and National Museum of China warn against unauthorised third-party reservations. Shanghai Museum specifically names trip.com for overseas visitors at People’s Square. That permission does not extend to other museums, branches or sellers; check the original-document and named-visitor conditions before purchase.

Can I use a foreign bank card or cash?

National policy calls for better foreign-card and cash acceptance at major cultural and tourist venues. It does not verify that a particular app accepts your card, that a payment will succeed, or that tickets remain available at a cash window. Prepare a backup payment method and confirm the successful booking separately.

Can I book every museum with a foreign passport?

No universal procedure has been confirmed. Several venues explicitly list passports. Others publish only “valid ID” or an overseas-visitor channel without naming passport numbers. The comparison distinguishes those cases. Ask the specific venue to confirm its current document options rather than assuming that a historical notice proves today’s system works.

Official Sources and Verification Notes

Rechecked on against the official pages below. This is a documentation review, not a completed purchase, app login, telephone call or on-site entry test. Retrieval date does not turn an old notice into a current rule. Undated standing pages are identified; historical holiday rules are labelled separately. The current official booking channel and any later date-specific announcement take precedence.

Verification limits. Explicit passport booking is confirmed in the Palace Museum, Terracotta Army museum and Shaanxi History Museum guides, and in Beijing’s park purchase guide. Shanghai’s current branch guides provide broader valid-ID or overseas-visitor wording. National Museum passport acceptance is documented in a 2022 reply, but its current form was not tested; Suzhou passport handling and the Terracotta Army’s current release window remain unconfirmed.

  1. 关于推进旅游公共服务高质量发展的指导意见 — nine ministries including the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, 文旅公共发〔2024〕41号, signed 19 June 2024, full text published by the Xing'an League administration on 7 August 2024 with the source named as the ministry site. The ministry's own page is JavaScript-rendered and could not be retrieved directly.
  2. 国家文物局部署2026年暑期博物馆开放服务工作 — Shandong culture and tourism department republication of a China Culture Daily report of the National Cultural Heritage Administration's summer 2026 notice, published 22 July 2026. The administration's own site was unreachable from this machine, so this government-hosted news report provides policy context, not the full original notice or a venue-specific admission rule.
  3. 关于进一步优化重点文旅场所支付服务 提升支付便利性的通知 — four-department notice, reported by the Baiyin culture, radio, film and tourism bureau on 15 April 2024.
  4. 国务院办公厅关于进一步优化支付服务 提升支付便利性的意见 — 国办发〔2024〕10号, dated 1 March 2024, full text on a government services site.
  5. 故宫博物院参观须知 — the Palace Museum's standing visitor rules: documents, one ticket per document per day, Wumen entry, session limits, refund and no-show counts, window hours, telephone. Undated in the page text; the source metadata carries 14 June 2023. Corroborated by the museum's ticketing site 在线订票, which shows the same rules with notices as recent as 27 August 2026, and by Visit — The Palace Museum on the multilingual site for the English passport sentence and the booking address.
  6. 故宫博物院关于2026年7月27日开放的公告 — dated 23 July 2026, on the mini program as the only booking route and on ticket windows being closed that day; see also the notices of 24 May 2026 on accompaniment pricing, 6 July 2026 on minors' group booking and Visit for the concession sentences.
  7. 参观导览 — the mausoleum site museum's standing guide: real-name booking including visitors from Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and abroad, passport details on the official website, 65,000 daily capacity, document list at the check lane. Undated.
  8. 五一出行早知道——您必看的秦陵博物院游玩须知 — dated 20 April 2023, historical source for that holiday’s release times, concessions and contact numbers; not a verified 2026 release or concession rule.
  9. 参观(导览) — the Shaanxi History Museum's visiting guide: passport in the booking document list, five-day release at 17:00, pre-fill rules, per-document caps, person-to-document verification, the south gate fallback, the Qin Han annex wording, paid exhibition sales, refund deadline and the 180-day no-show block. The page prints the current season of 6 May to 14 November 2026 but not a date for the rule text.
  10. 陕西历史博物馆2026年中秋、国庆假期开放公告 — dated 20 September 2026; historical holiday hours and the 17,500 daily figure apply only to 25–27 September and 1–7 October, not to the regular schedule.
  11. 观众预约须知 — the National Museum of China's booking notice, printed 25 July 2025 and in force from 1 August 2025: seven-day window, 17:00 release, 15:00 refund cut-off, quotas, no-show block, north gate entry. See also the account authentication notice of 15 April 2025 and the visitor notice of 18 September 2026.
  12. 扫码预约 · 预约须知 — Suzhou Museum's standing booking notice: seven-day window, same-day booking while tickets last, one change per ticket, the ±30 minute rule, the 90-day and one-year blocks, the west branch. No date appears anywhere on the page.
  13. 人民广场馆 · 参观须知 — Shanghai Museum visitor notice in force from 30 June 2026: mini program and trip.com booking, group telephone booking, hours and late opening, the green lane, and the audio guide deposit.
  14. How Foreigners Purchase Tickets Online for Beijing Municipal Parks — the city government's English inbound services guide, no visible publication date on the retrieved guide; rechecked 16 October 2026, with the park list, the language switch, passport purchase and the QR-plus-ID entry wording.
  15. 国务院办公厅关于进一步优化地方政务服务便民热线的指导意见 — 国办发〔2020〕53号, dated 28 December 2020, published 30 November 2021 on the Ministry of Finance's Jiangsu regulatory bureau site, with the annex listing 12301 among numbers merged whole into 12345; corroborated by a Taishan culture and tourism notice of 13 December 2021.
  16. Shanghai Museum East — official English visitor guide — standing page rechecked 16 October 2026; individual general entry without reservation, original valid ID, separate experiences and group booking. Its text states an effective date of 15 September 2024; passport is not explicitly named.
  17. Shanghai Museum East booking notice, 15 March 2024 — historical passport booking and entry evidence. Its release schedule predates the current no-reservation arrangement and is not used as a 2026 instruction.
  18. National Museum of China — 2022 visitor message-board archive — historical museum reply naming passports for reservations; the June 2022 visitor question is not confirmation of the current system. Rechecked 16 October 2026.